Jump to content
Sign Up To Remove Ads!


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies. Want this topic removed from the archive?

Fourth echelon

Pope Francis declares sainthood for two Palestinian nuns

Recommended Posts

VATICAN CITY, May 17 (UPI) -- Two Palestinian nuns who lived in the 19th century under the rule of the Ottoman Empire were canonized and given sainthood by Pope Francis on Sunday.

Marie Alphonsine Ghattas and Mariam Bawardy will be the first Palestinian saints in modern times. Two other nuns, Italian and French, were also declared saints at a ceremony in Rome's St. Peter's Square

Ghattas, born to a Palestinian family in Jerusalem, co-founded the still-operational Congregation of the Rosary Sisters, which runs various kindergartens and schools.



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites