Amanda Lee

Dramatic changes occur within the Halema’uma’u crater

17 minutes ago, Full Throttle said:

Is that good or bad news. I'm no expert.  :)

No idea?

Looks pretty sketchy to me tho

The USGS guy answers questions on that thread and basically says he doesn't really know what to expect.

2 minutes ago, Amanda Lee said:

No idea?

The USGS guy answers questions on that thread and basically says he doesn't really know what to expect.

Wow, that's awesome, nobody knows. :gsbrnint:

• Haha 1

2 minutes ago, Amanda Lee said:

No idea?

Definitely doesn’t seem good considering... Also, if the scientists knew that it was going to be really bad, would they say? 

• Like 3

1 minute ago, Eve said:

Definitely doesn’t seem good considering... Also, if the scientists knew that it was going to be really bad, would they say? 

LOL~ Trust me they don't know anything.

I mean they know the temperature of stuff and they can measure the out flow but no they really don't know how this place works. IMO

• Like 1

All I can say is plugging the exhaust vent of anything isn't ideal. It's a giant pressure cooker now.

• Like 1
  • WTF 2

given the laws fluid dynamics work by, we *should* see a resurgence in the  height of lava ejections from vent 8 if pressure in the main lava reservoir rises. 

The decreasing fountain heights at vent 8 imply vent 8 is sufficient to release current lava flow rates.  But there's no guarantee those flow rates won't change...perhaps rapidly.

• Like 1

10 hours ago, Amanda Lee said:

I mean they know the temperature of stuff and they can measure the out flow but no they really don't know how this place works. IMO