Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies. Want this topic removed from the archive?

Ukshep

University Offers Marijuana Degree...

Ukshep    25,406

Alex Roth has gotten into the habit of pulling out his cellphone and showing skeptical friends a screen shot of the classes he’ll have to take to get his bachelor of science degree from Northern Michigan University.

“When they hear what my major is, there are a lot of people who say, 'Wow, cool dude. You’re going to get a degree growing marijuana,’ ” said the 19-year-old sophomore at Northern Michigan University in Marquette. “But it’s not an easy degree at all.”

His four-year medicinal plant chemistry degree — geared toward the burgeoning marijuana business that is about to explode in Michigan next year — includes classes such as organic chemistry, biochemistry, soils, biology, gas and liquid chromatography, biostatistics, genetics, accounting, financial management and perspectives on society.

Other colleges and universities — such as Harvard, University of Denver, Vanderbilt University and Ohio State University — offer a variety of classes on marijuana policy and law.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation-now/2017/10/09/marijuana-degree-northern-michigan-university/745964001/

This feels overly specialized for a degree. Shouldn't botany be enough?

Cinders77    417
20 minutes ago, Ukshep said:

This feels overly specialized for a degree. Shouldn't botany be enough?

Not when the goal is to adulterate the purity of the plant's medical properties so someone can patent the end result and make LOTS of money.  :grumph:

Ukshep    25,406
2 minutes ago, Cinders77 said:

Not when the goal is to adulterate the purity of the plant's medical properties so someone can patent the end result and make LOTS of money.  :grumph:

It's not rocket science :D ... Not that I have experience. No not I!

Cinders77    417
25 minutes ago, Ukshep said:

It's not rocket science