Cinnamon

Do You Want To Be A Lab Rat? Check this out.

We received this in an email today....

Hello, 

My name is NAME REMOVED, and I am an am an undergraduate researcher working at the Behavior, Information, and Technology lab (BITLab) at Michigan State University.  

Would you be able to facilitate contact between our lab and members of the Conspiracy Outpost forums about an opportunity to participate in one of our studies?

The project we are working on is a NSF (United States National Science Foundation) funded grant studying online communities.  

With your assistance, we hope to conduct phone interviews with long-term members of your site. Our study focuses on how users think about online communities, rather than on the content of the communities themselves. Conspiracy Outpost provides the opportunity for a diverse group of people to come together to discuss, debate, and theorize, and would greatly benefit our research goals. 

Anyone who volunteers to participate will be compensated $20 (US) for their input and will play a vital role in helping us uncover the qualities that lead to the successful design, management, and participation level of an online community. 

More details about the study can be found at the following link: LINK REMOVED

Our goal is to unobtrusively contact members of your site. We respect and appreciate your community, and don't want to disturb the natural flow of the site. Can you help us figure out the best way to find willing and interested participants for our study? Is there a place that would be appropriate for us to post a message about the study? Or would it be better for you to post a message? 

Please feel free to contact us at bitlab with any questions, comments, or to set up a time to discuss further details by phone if you prefer.    

Thank you for your time and consideration. We look forward to hearing back from you. 

Best, 

2 minutes ago, thedudeabides said:

Sounds fishy to me.