Jump to content
Advertise With Us! Or Sign Up To Remove Ads!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

NowServingNumber52

Two-month countdown begins to total solar eclipse across U.S.

Recommended Posts

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla., June 21 (Reuters) - Two months before the first total solar eclipse to cross the continental United States in a century, NASA on Wednesday is expected to detail its plans to study and promote a celestial show that will darken skies from Oregon to South Carolina.

During the Aug. 21 eclipse, the moon will pass between the sun and Earth, blocking the face of the sun and leaving only its outer atmosphere, or corona, visible in the sky.

It is the first coast-to-coast total eclipse since 1918.

Weather permitting, astronomy enthusiasts can watch as the moon's 70-mile (113-km) wide shadow crosses the country, starting at 10:15 a.m. PDT (1715 GMT) around Lincoln Beach, Oregon, and ending at 2:49 p.m. EDT (1849 GMT) in McClellanville, South Carolina.

http://news.trust.org/item/20170621100154-zx7n3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
 Ukshep    20,223

This thread has been moved to the News & Current Events Forum!

For more information on why? Check out our page on what topics go where! As part of our quality control measures!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×