Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Lilly

Old Time Tools, Skills, Knowledge

104 posts in this topic

Just in case the lights go out one day. 

Please add whatever you have :)

3 people like this

As a landscaper by trade I find that pretty impressive... It should be noted that the trimmer could run all day whereas the guy running scythe looked like he was out of gas pretty fast. Pretty cool regardless

I racking my brain thinking of old tools, knowledge or skills but here's one for your thread I thought was pretty cool when I heard about it. Unfortunately we don't have walnut trees this far north so the knowledge is lost on me. The video shows you how to catch worms for fishing but if you were to pour this into a river or stream, it would suffocate any fish it comes into contact with, which is probably why it's illegal to fish with (but a hell of a lot easier to catch'em)

1 person likes this

I wonder what mechanism is at work there, they came out so fast! I know that black walnut is toxic to intestinal worms, but it looks like earth worms don't want be around it either. Very cool.

Don't forget the trimmer needs gas :) The chap in the vid was going all out for sure. I can't go that fast and I need a break after half an hour or so.

1 person likes this

I wonder what mechanism is at work there, they came out so fast! I know that black walnut is toxic to intestinal worms, but it looks like earth worms don't want be around it either. Very cool.

Don't forget the trimmer needs gas :) The chap in the vid was going all out for sure. I can't go that fast and I need a break after half an hour or so.

​It's called Juglone. Apparently quite toxic (especially to other plants) after what I've just read...

http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/crops/facts/info_walnut_toxicity.htm

2 people like this