Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

Personal Internet Privacy - Back from the Dead

24 posts in this topic

The intention of this thread is to provide some useful information on how to protect yourself from malware and general snooping. Please feel free to give your recommendations and/or stories about web privacy issues.

Disclaimer: I am not an IT professional and some of things to be discussed could screw-up your browser, computer, or router and perhaps get you in trouble with your ISP (specifically, changing your own IP address). If you choose to change settings on your computer, browser, or router, you do it at your own risk. Before you change anything, WRITE DOWN the previous settings (what you're changing, where it's located, how you got there, the default setting, etc.), so you can fix it if something goes wrong.

We will break the discussion up into different areas.

1) Operating Systems (OS) -- ex: Windows, Linux, Unix (Apple - Mac, OS X)
2) Browsers -- ex: Internet Explorer, FireFox, Chrome, TOR
3) Addons -- ex: NoScript, Ad Block Plus, User Agent Overrider
4) Antivirus and System Cleaning Software -- ex: Avast, Ccleaner, AVG, Norton, Spybot
5) Firewall -- ex: ZoneAlarm, Online Armor, Sygate, IPTables, Firestarter
6) Encryption
7) Proxies/VPN

The bad news first: If you're trying to block the NSA from tracking your online or cellular activity, you're fighting a losing battle. All electronic communications have been intercepted since the 90's. The only way to prevent gov interception is to NOT go online or use your cell-phone.

The good news: There are ways to protect yourself from unwanted snooping and malware/viruses. The TOR network and end-to-end encryption can protect you from gov snooping, but they're difficult to use for novices and it will raise a red-flag to those who continually monitor internet traffic (NSA, ISP's, hosts, etc.).